Human Services App Now Live


Available for FREE DOWNLOAD NOW in Google Play and the Apple Store

 
 

Venango County Human Services Mission:
“To assure the safety of our customers,
To preserve their families,
And to enhance the quality of their lives.”

 

Who Are We?

Venango County Human Services is a branch of county government that is managed by the Venango County Commissioners. It is directed by a Human Services Administrator who works with categorical and system directors and managers to ensure that a comprehensive continuum of high quality services is available to qualifying residents of Venango County.

Venango County is among the 30 counties in the Commonwealth that are part of the Human Services Block Grant. This grant serves as the catalyst for the overall redesign of the Human Service operations. While the county continues to work within the regulatory parameters of the traditional categorical systems our focus is to move away from disability-oriented systems of care to a structure based on Life Stages. The stages include: Children and Families; Emerging Adults; Adults; and Older Adults.

New Focus

This shift in focus to Life Stage supports the delivery of integrated case management services and aids in the development of partnerships with non-traditional providers like community supports, the faith community, businesses, and more. Monitoring for service providers, evaluation, and quality improvement are also based on the Life Stage orientation as well. The main purpose of this integration is to ensure individuals and families are safe and secure in the lease restrictive setting. We will enable county residents to heal, grow, and recover by receiving services that are demonstrated to be appropriate, cost effective, accessible, and that meet an assessed need.

One of the biggest changes to the Venango County Human Service operations is the institution of the Protective, Intake and Crisis Response Unit (PIC Unit). This one-door unit carries out all intake processes for all county funded services. Their responsibilities include but are not limited to: investigation of all allegations child and older adult abuse reports; mental health interventions; all crisis situations; and more.

Life Stage Integration

Multiple door access for services…………………….One-door access for all services

Use of publically-funded services…………………….Partnership between public and                                                                                                         community

Disability-oriented system of care……………………Age-related system of care, Life                                                                                                        Stages

Parallel/Collaborative planning and………………….Integrated service development                                                                                                        and development

System-specific goals, and agendas………………..All-encompassing goals and                                                                                                             outcomes


Community Support

Venango County Human Services directly manages the categorical systems that offer services for: Older Adults, Children and Youth, Mental Health and Development, Substance Abuse, and a variety of programs collectively managed by our Community Supports Services team (CSS).  We also partner with Mercer and Crawford counties to directly manage the HealthChoices Program, under the auspices of the North West Behavioral Health Partnership, offering behavioral health services collaboratively between the three counties. Venango County contracts with a large number of community service organizations to provide prevention and treatment assistance to county residents.

About this Website

This website is designed to serve as a resource/reference guide for the services and supports that are available within Venango County.  The information is organized by Life Stages that include: Children and Families; Emerging Adults; Adults, and Older Adults.  Drop down boxes further categorize the services from prevention level services (drop-in centers) to very high levels of support (inpatient care).  The higher the level of service is rated, the more likely that medical necessity or other qualifying criteria must be met in order for the services to be accessed.  In addition to listing the services that are available by Life Stage, additional information is provided regarding Community Support Services, Housing Services and Transportation supports.

Department Contacts

Human Services Administrator – Jayne Romero jromero@co.venango.pa.us

Deputy Human Service Administrator – Kim Woods kswoods@co.venango.pa.us

Children & Family System of Care – Luann Hartman lhartman@co.venango.pa.us

Children & Family Community Services – Amie Wood-Wessell awood@co.venango.pa.us

Children & Family Case Management In House Services – Courtney Hartle chartle@co.venango.pa.us

Adult & Emerging Adults System of Care – Jayne Romero jromero@co.venango.pa.us

Adults & Emerging Adults Community Service – Marie Plumer mplumer@co.venango.pa.us

Adults & Emerging Adults Case Management – Kim Woods kswoods@co.venango.pa.us

Older Adult System of Care – Michelle Tarr mtarr@co.venango.pa.us

Protective, Intake and Crisis Unit – Jake McVay jmcvay@co.venango.pa.us

Human Services Fiscal & Operations Director – Karen Rupert krupert@co.venango.pa.us

ID Administrative Entity – Amy Aikins aaikins@co.venango.pa.us

Quality Assurance/HIPAA Compliance – Kay Koyack kkoyack@co.venango.pa.us

Clinical Manager – Diane Weckerly dweckerly@co.venango.pa.us

Housing Unit Manager – Pat Owoc powoc@co.venango.pa.us

Resource Communication Officer – Loni Beer lbeer@co.venango.pa.us

Categorical Contacts:

Older Adults Service – Michelle Tarr mtarr@co.venango.pa
Children and Youth Services – Luann Hartman lhartman@co.venango.pa.us
Community Supports Services – Kit Woods kwoods@co.venango.pa.us
Mental Health/Developmental Services – Jayne Romero jromero@co.venango.pa.us
Substance Abuse Services – Marie Plumer mplumer@co.venango.pa.us

 

 

 

 

Go to Top